Alumni Accolades

Alumni Accolades

Chris Hobbs (’00), director of athletics for The King’s Academy in Florida, received the 2018 “Top 40 Under 40” of the Sports Industry’s Next Generation of Leaders by “Coach & A.D.” magazine. The website explains he has “thrived influencing school communities as an athletic administrator and coach,” received “basketball coach of the year” four times, and his work on athletic leadership has been published in multiple journals.


Amy Brodrick (’10), received the Associated Press award for 2017 Best Producer in the Virginias for her work on a piece covering the Charlottesville riots. A producer with WDBJ7, a CBS-affiliated television station in Virginia, she also worked on an Emmy-nominated show.



Bruce C. Steffes (’14), MD, FACS, a general surgeon from North Carolina, earned the International Surgical Volunteerism Award, presented in 2018 at the American College of Surgeons Board of Governors dinner in Boston. The press release states he received the honor “for his more than 20 years of providing surgical and administrative skill to underserved areas of the world.” Steffes originally attended CSU in 1969, returning to finish his both his bachelor’s and master’s degrees online 45 years later.



Tammy (Galvin) Beideman (‘94), founder and owner of Sweet Elizabeth Jane, was honored as Maryland’s Small Business Person of the Year 2018. The owner of the vintage-inspired lifestyle store in Ellicott City was one of only 52 recipients in the nation. Beideman’s entrepreneurial spirit helped her promote hope as she built her business back after a devastating flood.



CSU 2018 Alumni Award Winners

The Alumni Association presented five deserving people with awards on Alumni Day 2018 to celebrate those who pursue a lifestyle that honors Christ and point others to Him.

Watch the Alumni Award Ceremony

Alumnus of the Year
Jeff Howell (’86, ’92)
Senior pastor at Calvary Baptist Church in Pennsylvania


Young Alumnus Award
Aleisha Buchanan (’14)
Middle school health and physical education teacher and athletic director at an international school


Outstanding Service Award

Tammy Beidman (’94)
Founder and owner of Sweet Elizabeth Jane in Maryland


Chris Brown (’96)
Founder and director of Technology Ministry Network in Ohio


Ken Riley (’04)
Executive director of Lake Ann Camp in Michigan


Print Friendly, PDF & Email
(0 votes. Average 0 of 5)