Home » News » 2022 Athletic Hall of Honor Class Announced

2022 Athletic Hall of Honor Class Announced

The Athletics Department of Clarks Summit University has announced the 2022 Athletic Hall of Honor inductees. Dr. Bill Higley, Ronnie Chastain and the 1991–1992 men’s basketball team will be inducted this fall.

The Clarks Summit University Athletic Hall of Honor was established in 2006 to recognize athletes, coaches, staff and athletics supporters who have made a lasting impression on the Defender Athletics program.

The Hall of Honor already features 20 distinguished members and three teams. Nominees must have achieved significant athletic achievement  and demonstrated Christ-honoring character during their time at CSU and currently.

The induction ceremony for the following new members will be September 30 during CSU’s Homecoming weekend. Tickets can be purchased at a later date. Follow CSUDefenders on social media for updates.

Bill Higley: Longtime Coach

Higley took over the Defender softball program in 2002; he retired in 2019 as the program’s all-time winningest coach with 240 wins. In 2005, he was named Coach of the Year as he led the Lady Defenders to their first 20-win season and a spot in the Northeastern Atlantic Conference championship. In the next three seasons, CSU made appearances in the NEAC Championship, Higley earned the Coach of the Year designation for a second time, and more than a dozen individual awards were handed to his top players. Higley’s impact goes beyond athletic achievements, as his godly character has had a major impact on his players. His genuine love for others matches his competitive spirit. As CSU’s vice president for academics, Higley continues to have a positive influence on students.

Ronnie Chastain: Faithful Athletic Trainer

Ronnie Chastain has served as Clarks Summit University’s head athletic trainer since 2004. Working with hundreds of student-athletes, he has played a major role in the success of Defender Athletics. The athletic training facilities and quality of care has grown over the past two decades under Chastain’s leadership. With a reputation for excellence in his field, students from other universities in need of athletic training practicum observations seek Chastain as their first choice to observe. Chastain, a certified athletic trainer with a fun personality, also served as resident director of Christen Hall, teaches classes and cares for students both in and out of the training room. Faithfully serving CSU for 18 years, Chastain is known for his devotion to faith and dedication to hard work.

1991–92 Men’s Basketball Team: Champions

This Defender team won the National Christian College Athletic Association National Championships over Clearwater Christian College of Florida, 88-65, in 1992. With CSU Athletic Hall of Honor member Russ Howard at the helm, the Defenders finished with a 20-7 record and three All-Conference Awards. Howard was named Coach of the Year. Derek Mosher led the team in scoring, averaging 22.6 points per game. He shot 48 percent from the floor and averaged 7.6 rebounds per contest. Mosher finished the season with 610 total points and earned the Maravich Award. Sharing the First-Team All-Conference title with Mosher, Robbie Stearns had 182 assists and 549 total points. Point guard and coaching legend Mike Show led in three-point field goal percentage with 41.7 percent; he amassed 327 points his final year as a player.

1992 Championship Team

Steve Barton 
Dan Brown
Dean Bult 
Mark Erikson
Scott Flatt 
Paul Gruet
Mark Moody
Derek Mosher 
Keith Overholt  
Dave Pirrie
Mike Show
Ken Shupp
Rob Stearns        
Chris Storr         
Oliver Yasay        
Russ Howard, Head Coach
Randy Carman, Assistant Coach
Doug Loescher, Assistant Coach

Find the full roster of Athletic Hall of Honor members at GoCSUDefenders.com.


Archives Related Posts
Left Menu Icon